Héctor D. Abruña


Professor Héctor D. Abruña, Émile M. Chamot Professor of Chemistry is Director of the Energy Materials Center at Cornell (emc2). He completed his graduate studies with Royce W. Murray and Thomas J. Meyer at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 and was a postdoctoral research associate with Allen J. Bard at the University of Texas at Austin from 1980-81. After a brief stay at the University of Puerto Rico, he joined Cornell in 1983. He was Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology from 2004-2008.

Professor Abruña has been the recipient of numerous awards including a Presidential Young Investigator Award, A. P. Sloan Fellowship, J. S. Guggenheim Fellowship and J. W. Fulbright Senior Fellow. He is the recipient of the Electrochemistry Award for the American Chemical Society (2008), and the C.N. Reilley Award in Electrochemistry for 2007.  He was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2007, member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2007 and Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry in 2008. He received the D. C. Grahame Award from the Electrochemical Society for 2009, the Faraday Medal of the Royal Society for 2011, the Brian Conway Prize from the International Society of Electrochemistry for 2013, was named Fellow of the Electrochemical Society in 2013, in 2017, he was the recipient of the Gold Medal of the International Society of Electrochemistry, and most recently he was elected to the National Academy of Science. Professor Abruña is the co-author of over 460 publications (h-index = 83) and has given over 600 invited lectures world-wide. He considers his 54 Ph.D. students and 66 Post-Doctoral associates as his most important professional achievement.

The Abruña research group’s interdisciplinary research addresses problems of electrochemical interest, with current emphasis on fundamental studies of battery and fuel cell systems to molecular electronics. The group uses standard abruna groupelectrochemical techniques in addition to X-ray and various microscopy methods and a variety of spectroscopic techniques. The group also synthesizes novel, tailored inorganic complexes and organic battery materials to drive discovery of new chemical and electrochemical properties. 

Abruña will lead the recently funded DOE Center for Alkaline-Based Energy Solutions (CABES), part of the Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) program supported by the U.S. Department of Energy.